Wednesday, February 02, 2005

The Six Foes

20. The Six Foes of the Mind

(From Silent Whispers/Timeless Talk—a book I am writing inspired by the discourses of Upasni Maharaj of Sakori)

“I have spoken before of the Three Qualities.[1]It is from the Quality called Raja Guna, the Passionate Quality that the Six Foes of the human mind are born. In the ancient language they are called: krodha (anger), lobha (greed), moha (attachment), kama (passion), mada (pride), and matsarya (envy).
The Lord has said, ‘I am the Father of this world, the Mother, the Dispenser of the fruits of actions and the Grandfather; the One to be known, the Purifier, the Sacred First Sound and all of the Truth of the Great Teachings.’
It is the Lord as Father who, in Great Nature, placed the seed for the birth of the Creator who gives birth to all beings. The Great Primordial Nature is called Prakriti or Maya and expresses through Herself, at various times, any one of the Three Qualities. When The Passionate Quality was active in Prakriti, the Six Foes burst forth into creation.
The Six Foes manifest the state of enmity or hatred. If we imbibe this state, then we see foes all around us. Some mistakenly believe that the six foes must be destroyed but really, it is the state of enmity within oneself that must be destroyed. Then, without any effort, the six foes cease to have any effect on one at all. In fact, one actually is able to make use of them for the good of oneself and others. When enmity is subdued one begins to experience that there never were any other enemies to begin with—except oneself.”

© 2004 Michael Kovitz

[1] For an explanation, see previous posting The Three Gunas